Communications Minister Inaugurates New NCA Board

A newly constituted Board of Directors, mandated to ensure the proper and effective performance of the functions of the National Communications Authority (NCA) has been inaugurated by the Honorable Minister for Communications, Mrs. Ursula Owusu-Ekuful.

The inauguration was held on Thursday, 6th July, 2017, at the Conference Room of the Ministry of Communications in Accra. Speaking at the ceremony, the Hon. Minister charged the board with the responsibility of ensuring that the NCA delivers on its mandate.

She entreated the sworn-in board to work with all stakeholders to ensure the harmonious implementation of the national communications policy for the continuing development of the ICT infrastructure and services for public interest and in the spirit of public-private partnership collaboration.

ttHon. Ursula Owusu-Ekuful outlining the expectations of the Government to the in-coming Board of Directors.

According to the Minister, the board is expected to use its expertise and various background to enrich the strategic decision making process to guide the management of the NCA to deliver on strategic initiative in the sector to meet the challenges in creating a robust and secure information and knowledge society in Ghana.

She urged members  of the board to comply with the provision in section10(1) and (2) in Act 769 which enjoin a member of the board to disclose interest and also register with minister, a written declaration of such interest before assuming office for the sake of accountability.

The members of the Board which is chaired by Mr. Kwaku Sakyi-Addo were appointed by the President in accordance with article 70 of the Constitution of Ghana.

The other Members of the Board are; Mr. Kwaku Sakyi-Addo, Mr. Joseph Anokye, Kwabena Adu-Boahene, Mr. Bernard Forson, Mr. Philip Asare Kwame Ayesu, Mrs. Susan Barbara Adjorkor Boye Kumapley, Mr. Paul Adom –Otchere and Mr. David Gyewu

On behalf of his colleague Board members, Mr. Sakyi-Addo expressed gratitude to the President and the Minister for the responsibility entrusted to them and assured them that they will not fail the people of Ghana.

Members  of  the  Board  shall  hold  office  for  a  period  not  exceeding  four  years  and  is  eligible  for  re-appointment  but  a  member  shall not be appointed for more than two terms. This does not apply to the Director-General.

The Board comprise:

  • the Chairperson;
  • the   Director-General   appointed   under   section   16;
  • One representative of the National Security Council, National Media Commission and Ministry of Communications, not below the rank of a director.
  • one     person     with     experience     and     expertise     in     communications; and
  • three other persons at least one of whom is a woman and each of whom has knowledge of expertise in electrical engineering, law, business or public administration.
    ttttBoard members in a group photo with the Minister and Deputy Minister for Communications

    Source: NCA (CCAD)